Busy Bees – October 12

I hope you all had a good rest over the Thanksgiving weekend, a break from your hard work and studying, and a chance to reflect on how God has been good to you!

This week I am especially thankful for Allison Alvarez, who wrote this week’s CYIA Connected for you!

Busy Bees

by Allison Alvares

“I have so much to do today that I shall spend the first three hours in prayer.” Martin Luther

Summer has quickly passed and fall has come (my favourite season)!  Along with fall comes the start of the new school year, getting back to work, volunteering and much more.  I had just come back from serving with CEFOntario and serving in Peru with my church and there was already 200 million tasks to complete (an exaggeration of course).  Much like the rest of you, I had many things to do now that the “new year” had begun.  I was feeling a little overwhelmed with the emails, projects, events, and tasks to complete and even though I really enjoy keeping busy, I sometimes too need a break, even if it is a little one.

Reflecting on the many tasks at hand, I picked up my Bible and decided to see what Jesus would do.  In Luke 5:16 it says: “So He Himself often withdrew into the wilderness and prayed.”  Jesus prayed!  

The answer was quite clear, I am called to pray and give my day to the Lord.  And even though I did this before, I have learned in the past month and a bit to really spend that time both talking and listening to God and I personally feel refreshed every day!

I know that we are in the middle of a semester where school work, work or other things may be weighing us down but I have a challenge for you.  My challenge to all of you is despite all the projects, term work and all the other things you may be involved in is to give it to God!  Spend time with Him, listen to what He has to say and be refreshed by His word!  I’m praying for you!

Allison Alvares


Leave a comment